ROCHESTER INSTITUTE OF TECHNOLOGY
Student Council Meeting Minutes
October 1, 1956

The meeting was called to order at 5:00 P.M. by President Pro Tempore, Robert Ball.

Roll call was taken and the following members were absent:

ART & DESIGN David Barney PHOTOGRAPHY Ray Proutz

MECHANICAL William Athawes Gary Cullota PRINTING James Calista

The minutes of the previous meeting were read and approved.

ASSEMBLY

An assembly featuring George V. Denny, who will speak on the political analysis of the coming national election, will be held Monday, October 8, at 10 A.M. in the Ritter-Clark Gymnasium.

BUDGET

The budget should be ready to go before Council within approximately one week.

BLAZERS

Dick Nally reported that it was too late to place an advertisement for blazers in the R.I.T.Reporter and that we will have to depend solely on the Brooks-Allen Company for publicity.

ELECTIONS

It has been stated in the Student Association Constitution that where officers of Council are block students, other members shall be voted in to serve as their alternate block officers. Therefore, the following committee has been appointed to nominate an A block Vice President and a B block secretary:

> Frank Kowalski Chairman Dick Nally Marge Kellogg Mike Schwartz John Hedges

STUDENT PERSONNEL COMMITTEE

The Chair reported that the letter stating Council's feeling toward the ban on alcohol at open parties has been received by the Student Personnel Committee.

A committee consisting of the following has been formed for the purpose of reviewing the ban:

> Mr. Alexander Mr. Simmons Mr. Exper

SCHOOL WIDE ELECTIONS

Robert Kohler presented and made the motion that we accept the following resolution.

That the Constitution Committee of Student Council be directed by Student Council to draft a change in Article IX of the by-laws of the Constitution. This change shall make the election of the Student Council officers school wife. The Constitution Committee shall report with the draft for presentation to Student Council no later than November 26,1956.

The motion was seconded and discussion followed.

The motion was defeated and it was voted in favor of recording the names of those who voted for and against the motion.

> FOR John Boyd Robert Kohler Dick Nally Donald Lenhard Marilyn Keppler John Reynolds Alan Miller Lee Swanson Donald Rickert

AGAINST Robert Wahl Norman Radziwon John Mosher Mike Gatz Olga Vangel Paul Donoghue Marge Kellogg Horst Bayer Douglas Brown Mike Schwartz Edward McGinn Frank Kowalski Ralph Agresta John Hedges

## PHOTOGRAPHY ORGANIZATION

The Photography Department has formed a new organization under the name of the Society of Motion Picture and Television Engineers. The motion was made and carried that Council grant temporary recognition to the organization until their constitution has been approved by the Constitution Committee.

Following are the names of the officers:

Howard Hall Stan Feigenbaum Hollis Todd Chairman Secretary-Treasurer Faculty Advisor

## ANNOUNCEMENTS

The nominating committee for alternating Council Officers will meet Monday, October 8, at 4 P.M. in Clark Union, room 100.

The motion for adjournment was made and the meeting was adjourned at 6:10 P.M.

Respectfully submitted,

JANE WHITE Secretary