ROCHESTER INSTITUTE OF TECHNOLOGY Student Council Minutes May 3. 1954

The meeting was called to order at 5:05 p.m. by President Bernard Boston.

The roll call was taken, and the following members were absent:

ART Barbara Stupp

CHEMISTRY Robert White (sent substitute)

COMMERCE Betty Jane Diem Rolf Brynilsen

ELECTRICAL Edward Gallagher FOOD ADMINISTRATION Donna Spong

MECHANICAL George Scatko

RETAILING Todd Ruede Marilyn Boucher

The minutes of the previous meeting were read and approved.

President Bernard Boston Introduced Mr. William Hale who apoke about the combined Community Chest and Red Cross Drive and asked the students' support as in past years. Jerry Shaia made the motion that there be a collection for this purpose from May 6 to May 14. Harris Rusitzky seconded the motion, and it was passed by Council.

Herbert Winkelmann is chairman for this drive. His representatives in each department are

Art-Jerry Shain Chemistry - Rita Prado Commerce - Phil Powers Printing - Hugh Mahoney Electrical - Wallace Engard Retailing - Pamela Quick

Machanical - Cameron Pundt Photography - Gus Fickteman Food Admn. - Shirley Seitz S.A.C. - Marjorie Armstrong

President Boston welcomed the new members and introduced all the members who have been elected to Council thus far.

Vice-President Edgar Watson gave the elections report. When all departments have been completed, a list of their names will be published.

Harris Rusitzky, chairman of the Blood Drive, said the returns for donors are very poor. He urged Council members to push the return of blanks.

Student Council Minutes, May 3, 1954 - Page 2

Edgar Watson made the motion that Council approve these plans for the Student Council Banquet: That it be held at the Spring House (if it is available), on Thursday, May 27, at 7:00 p.m. There will be entertainment after the dinner. Ed Krauss seconded the motion, and Council passed it. The committee in charge will meet at 12:30 in the Student Council Office on May 5.

There will be an Executive Committee meeting at 12:30 in the Student Council Office, on May 6, to select a President Pro Tem.

The Nominating Committee was appointed and is composed of Harris Rusitzky and Pamela Welsh from the present Council, and Wallace Engard, Shirley Seitz, and Jesse Maffuid from the new Council. This committee will meet May 7, at 12:30 p.m.

Mary Kramer, Herbert Winkelmann, and Edgar Watson were chosen as the committee to work on the Rudner Award.

Hugh Mahoney announced that the inter-faith service is impossible because members of the Catholic faith are forbidden by Canon Law to attend a religious service in a non-Catholic chapel.

Harris Rusitzky reported that some progress had been made for a traffic light at the corner of Spring Street and Plymouth Avenue. He asked all Council members to write to Mr. William Keeler, Chairman of the Safety Drive, to push this project.

Bernard Boston reminded chairmen that the standing committees' formal written reports are due on Monday, May 10.

Inter-Organization Council will meet at 7:30, in Clark Union, on May 4.

Motion for adjournment was made at 5:50 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Rita Prado Secretary