ROCHESTER INSTITUTE OF TECHNOLOGY Student Council Meeting Minutes September 19, 1955

The meeting was called to order at 5:05 p.m. by President Pro-tem Richard Mort.

The roll call was taken and the following members were absent:

2nd Year

3rd Year

CHEMISTRY Carl Clark

PHOTOGRAPHY Ben Bartow

COMMERCE Richard Steffan David Weston

S.A.C. Rebecca Kent

COMMERCE Chan Whiting

MECHANICAL Richard Ryan

The minutes of the previous meeting were read and approved.

STUDENT HANDBOOKS

Upper classmen may pick up a student handbook in their respective departments.

FRESHMEN ELECTIONS

Frank Kowalski asked the following people to remain after the meeting to discuss the election of Freshmen representatives for Student Council:

Chris Rhoades Logon John Johnson John Johnson Resuren-Ngoc Nha

Louis Polito Joyce Morey Rebecca Kent

-.U

STANDING COMMITTEES

The President Pro-tem has appointed the following people chairmen of standing committees.

Frank Kowalski
Bud Rusitzky
Rod Brower
Bob Seabrooks
Bob Ball
Malcolm Luft

Budget and Program Parking Lot Publications Lounge Assembly Awards DANCE CLUB CONSTITUTION

The Chair asked for the approval of the Dance Club's constitution which was approved by last year's Constitution Committee. The constitution was read, and Robert Ball made the motion that Council approve it. The motion was seconded and passed.

PROPOSED REVISIONS

The proposed revisions of the Student Association Constitution were read, discussed, and approved.

CHANGE OF MEETING TIME

Deron Thay

It was suggested and agreed that Council start its meetings at 5:10 P.M. hereafter and end promptly at 6:00 P.M.

STUDENT HANDBOOK

Mr. Belknap told Council that it would cost \$750 for 2000 copies of the student handbook if taken to an outside company for publication. This will be left to the discretion of the Budget Committee who can then recommend it to Council for action.

FIRE ALARM

Bob Seabrooks brought up the need for a firealarm system in the Chemical Department. Mr. Belknap suggested discussing the problem with Dr. VanPeursen and with the Policy Committee.

Howard Hall made the motion for adjournment which was seconded. The meeting was adjourned at 5:55 P.M.

Respectfully submitted.

JANE WHITE Secretary