

## **DOC Inducts 23 to Lambda Pi Eta**

Bruce A. Austin baagll@rit.edu

24 March 2003

On Friday, 21 March 2003, the Department of Communication (DOC) welcomed 23 Communication majors to the Lambda Pi Eta, the honor society of the National Communication Association. Membership to this elite group requires that students meet stringent academic qualifications.

The Induction ceremony took place in the SAU Skalny Room. Students and 40 of their guests were welcomed by Department Chair Bruce Austin. DOC Associate Professor and Lambda Pi Eta Advisor Dr. Susan Barnes introduced the evening's keynote speaker, Dr. Janet Sternberg of Fordham University, whose talk was entitled "Misbehaving Online: Breaking Rules of Conduct on the Internet."

As part of the evening's events, PTC Peer Mentors Kevin Ptak and Nary Tep were recognized by Dr. Keith Jenkins. Inducted to Lambda Pi Eta were 17 undergraduate and six graduate students majoring in communication. Third year PTC students inducted are Andrea F. Ervay, Elizabeth Karras, Alysia Park, Kevin Ptak, Kelci N. Tingley, Alicia M. Van Ness and Kavya Yadav. Fourth year PTC students inducted are Jennifer S. Ashman, Kevin J. Barker, Kristin M. Beyczi, Monica J. Haley, David H. Marion, Jennifer S. McKee, Paul S. Remington, Marci S. Savage, Eileen Shannon and Adam M. Stone. And CMT graduate students inducted are Nicole E. Bartell, Pamela L. Carmichael, David C. Fuehrer, Carin L. Kosmoski, Janet P. Ofano and Jill K. Reynolds.

The formal induction ceremony was facilitated by DOC faculty and Ms. Maryrose Mason, a CMT student and current member of Lambda Pi Eta.